Wherein I write about my appreciation of the resurgence of difficult video games.

The Saas Perspective

Spelunky1

One of my earliest video game memories, beyond vague glimpses of my dad and his friends playing Super Mario Bros. on the original Nintendo Entertainment system, was picking up a Sega Genesis game based around Terminator 2: Judgment Day. My dad used to rent Sega Genesis games for me from the local grocery store every now and then, and considering the film’s tie-in to a major motion picture, I understand why my dad picked that game that weekend. I never even beat the first level. I’m sure part of that can be chalked up to the fact that I was probably six or so, but modern games have largely abandoned the hellish difficulty of the games of my youth.

I had both the Aladdin and The Lion King games for my Genesis. Those were explicitly games for children. They also both have reputations for sections that are hair-pullingly…

View original post 1,293 more words

