An essay on the idea of choice in gaming (and it is chock full of spoilers. sorry)

The Saas Perspective

Bioshock1

(This post contains spoilers for The Walking Dead: The Game as well as Bioshock, The Stanley Parable, and The Last of Us. Read at your own discretion.)

One of the in vogue mechanics of the last generation of video games was the notion of player choice and to take it one step further, the notion of the player actively altering the outcome/make-up of the games they are playing. I bought my XBox 360 specifically so I could play The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion because the idea of a massive world that I could explore in whichever order I chose and with whatever play-style I wanted was more than my inner D&D fan could pass up. And many of the most acclaimed games of the PS3/XBox 360 era (Mass Effect, Skyrim, The Witcher 2) defined themselves through player choice. But how much of our…

View original post 1,478 more words

