As any of you who read the blog regularly know, I have decided to stop reviewing movies for the foreseeable future. I am working on a screenplay, and at the moment, the screenplay has the highest priority for my free time. That said, I haven’t stopped watching movies, and one of the reasons that I started in this blog in the first place was that I wanted to be able to sort in my mind what were actually the best films of any given year because I rarely agreed with the Oscars. I.e., Argo was only the seventh best of just the Best Picture nominees for me in 2012 (and there were plenty of non-nominees that I preferred to it as well). With that being the case, I figured I could still keep making these lists of what were the best movies and performances of the last 50 films I’ve seen. The unfortunate side of this is that there won’t be links to the reviews for many of these for at least the next good while. Although thankfully, the only film on this list without a review to link back to will be the drama A Love Song For Bobby Long. That will be more of a problem for future lists like this. Anyways, I hope you find something worth watching here.

 

Best Picture: Drama

TheBicycleThief2

1. The Bicycle Thief (1948)

2. Bergman’s “Trilogy of Faith:” Through a Glass Darkly (1961), Winter Light (1963), The Silence (1963)

3. To the Wonder (2012)

4. Into the Wild (2007)

5. Raging Bull (1980)

 

Best Picture: Comedy

BringingUpBaby2

1. Bringing Up Baby (1938)

2. Duck Soup (1933)

3. The Incredibles (2004)

4. Paranorman (2012)

5. Heathers (1989)

 

Best Director:

IngmarBergman1

1. Ingmar Bergman: His “Trilogy of Faith”

2. Terrence Malick: To the Wonder

3. Werner Herzog: Encounters at the End of the World (2007)

4. Vittorio De Sica: The Bicycle Thief

5. Martin Scorsese: Raging Bull

 

Best Actor in a Dramatic Role:

RagingBull2

1. Robert Deniro: Raging Bull

2. James Stewart: Vertigo (1958)

3. Gunnar Bjornstrand: Winter Light

4. Jean-Louis Trintingant: Amour (2012)

5. Lamberto Maggioriani: The Bicycle Thief

 

Best Actress in a Dramatic Role:

Amour3

1. Emmanuelle Riva: Amour

2. Harriett Andersson: Through a Glass Darkly

3. Ingrid Thulin: The Silence

4. Scarlett Johansson: A Love Song for Bobby Long (2004,  no review)

5. Charlotte Gainsbourg: Melancholia (2011)

 

Best Actor in a Comedic Role:

CaryGrant1

1. Cary Grant: Bringing Up Baby

2. Christian Slater: Heathers

3. Groucho Marx: Duck Soup

4. Craig T. Nelson: The Incredibles

5. Donald O’Connor: There’s No Business Like Show Business (1954)

 

Best Actress in a Comedic Role:

BringingUpBaby3

1. Katharine Hepburn: Bringing Up Baby

2. Winona Ryder: Heathers

3. Holly Hunter: The Incredibles

4. Molly Ringwald: Sixteen Candles (1984)

5. Ethel Merman: There’s No Business Like Show Business

 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

IntoTheWild7

1. Hal Holbrook: Into the Wild

2. Albert Brooks: Drive (2011)

3. Max Von Sydow: Through a Glass Darkly

4. Joe Pesci: Raging Bull

5. Anthony Hopkins: The Elephant Man (198)

 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:

TheSilence3

1. Gunnel Lindblom: The Silence

2. Catherine Keener: Into the Wild

3. Taraji P. Henson: Hustle & Flow (2005)

4. Cathy Moriarty: Raging Bull

5. Isabella Huppert: Amour

 

Alright, folks. That’s it for this time around. The next time I have one of these, I will have watched 500 movies for this blog (although, as I said, I’m guessing I won’t have actual reviews for them). I don’t like the idea of totally giving up on reviewing films so what I think will actually happen (cause I love writing too much to just stop) is that I will save my reviews for films that I consider to be an “A” or “A+” because generally speaking, those will be the reviews that I’ll have something particularly meaning to say about. Anyways, enjoy!

 

 

 

 

