I wrote a little bit about Gilmore Girls and how much this show has come to mean to me in such a short period of time.

The Saas Perspective

GilmoreGirls1

I’m not Gilmore Girls‘ target audience. I’m a 25 year old man who is discovering the show in 2014 rather than when it premiered in 2000. Our society doesn’t make it easy for men to enjoy fiction that is more traditionally marketed to girls/women. I’m not saying that it makes it easier for women (it doesn’t, and women have their own endless slew of societal pressures to deal with), but you’re much more likely to hear a girl say she likes… say Game of Thrones than you are to hear a man say he loves Grey’s Anatomy (which was great for two seasons before it imploded). And while my love of musical theater and appreciation of cheesy dance pop says that I do my best to work past what I’m expected to enjoy as an American man, I still struggle with what it ease I think I’m allowed to…

View original post 1,556 more words

